Apprenticeship Wage Credit

Reform UK policy documents

Category: Economy

Reform UK proposes a 30% wage tax credit for SME apprentices aged 16–18 plus a £2,000 retention bonus.

Overview

This policy paper sets out Reform UK’s proposal to increase apprenticeship uptake by paying employers a wage credit and a retention bonus, and by loosening rules around how apprentices are trained. The central measure is a 30 per cent Apprenticeship Wage Credit for employers with an annual pay bill under £3 million, aimed at reducing the cost of hiring apprentices aged 16–18. The paper also proposes a one‑off Apprenticeship Retention Bonus of £2,000 for workers who remain for two years at the firm after completing their apprenticeship. Reform UK says the measures are a response to declining apprenticeship starts and skills shortages, and frames the package as the first step towards a long‑term target of 600,000 apprenticeship starts per year within five years. The document includes numeric costings for the measures on a cohort and parliamentary basis, and presents scenarios where growth in apprenticeship numbers and improved retention raise the total cost over a Parliament from around £1.49 billion to over £2.0 billion. Beyond direct payments, the paper proposes administrative changes: allowing qualifying employers to deliver training in‑house rather than relying on external providers, removing mandatory entry requirements such as automatic English and maths level 2 for younger apprentices where employers judge it unnecessary, and creating a one‑stop online service to simplify paperwork and make grants automatic. The authors state they will consult on the employer‑led training regime and expect to offset some costs by restricting loans for foreign students and cutting funding for certain university courses. The measures would apply to firms beneath the apprenticeship levy threshold and to apprentices meeting the stated age, residency and prior‑qualification tests. The document gives fiscal year breakdowns for costs and a timetable framed as costs within a single Parliament, but many operational details about delivery and oversight are not specified in the paper.

Key commitments

What it would cost

The paper supplies explicit numerical costings. It uses a statutory apprentice wage of £15,808 and a 30 per cent wage share to derive an annual credit of £4,742 per apprentice; it also states a credit per full apprenticeship of £8,333. With 39,891 apprentices in scope today the document calculates a wage credit cost per annual cohort of £332 million, wage credit cash in a Parliament of £1,400 million, a retention bonus cash figure of £85 million, and a total package cost over a Parliament of £1,486 million. Scenario tables show higher totals if apprenticeship numbers grow or retention improves, up to a fully loaded package of £2,027 million in the highest scenario. The paper asserts offsets, notably savings from banning foreign students’ access to taxpayer loans and reducing university subsidies, but does not quantify the precise offsets or present reconciled net fiscal positions. It does not cost administrative implementation, IT development for the proposed one‑stop service, compliance and monitoring of in‑house training, or the administrative route for paying or recouping tax credits and retention bonuses. The fiscal year breakdowns (2027–28 to 2031–32) are provided, but the source and timing of offset realisations are not detailed, leaving the net public‑finance impact partially unspecified.

How it would be delivered

The document states Reform UK would introduce the measures if in government, but it names few delivery bodies. It refers to the Apprenticeship Service for digital improvements and to trade associations as possible first‑line assessors for some training approvals, and it labels small firms as the target of the retention bonus (with an endnote definition of small firm as under 50 employees). The mechanism for the wage credit is described as a credit 'against their tax bill', implying administration through the tax system, but the paper does not name HMRC or any specific department to administer the credit or the bonus. Timetable material is limited to fiscal year cost tables covering 2027–28 to 2031–32 and an ambition to reach 600,000 starts 'within five years', but the document does not set out staged rollouts, application processes, or legal instruments that would enact the tax credit, the retention payment, or the in‑house training regime. The paper says it will 'consult on this regime when in Government', indicating a promised consultation prior to final rules, but does not specify consultation participants, timing, or the legislative route for each measure.

What isn't specified

The paper leaves multiple operational and fiscal details unspecified. It does not name the government departments or agencies that would implement the wage credit or pay the retention bonus, nor does it explain how employers would claim the credit in practice or how HMRC would verify eligibility. Administrative costs for establishing and running the one‑stop online service, and for monitoring in‑house training quality and safety‑critical qualifications, are not costed. The suggested offsets, banning foreign students from taxpayer loans and cutting university subsidies, are referenced but not quantified or scheduled, leaving the net funding gap unclear. The consultation on employer‑led training is promised 'when in Government' but lacks a timetable and does not define which rules would change or what statutory safeguards would apply. The retention bonus mechanism and compliance checks for the two‑year post‑completion condition are not described. In short, payment routes, enforcement, interaction with the Apprenticeship Levy and other existing programmes, and detailed timescales are absent.

Language and firmness

The document predominantly uses firm language such as 'we will' for proposed actions, for example 'we will introduce the Apprenticeship Wage Credit' and 'we will introduce the Apprenticeship Retention Bonus', signalling intent to legislate or implement. It also uses goal‑oriented phrasing where outcomes are aspirational, for example 'Our long term goal is 600,000 apprenticeships a year in England within five years' and 'Our goal is to get to 600,000 apprenticeship starts per year by the end of the Parliament', which frames targets rather than guaranteed results. Words of expectation appear for offsets: 'We expect to make significant savings by banning all foreign students from accessing taxpayer funded loans', indicating projected rather than assured savings. The mix shows decisive commitments to create measures, coupled with aspirational targets and contingent savings.